Georgia is a strict state regarding driving under the influence of alcohol, but even more so against underage drinkers.
You can expect even harsher penalties if you are under 21 and driving under alcohol. Our state has zero-tolerance laws on underage drivers caught driving under the influence.
If you are an under-21 driver charged with being under the influence of alcohol behind the wheel, your future hangs in the balance. Contact Moffitt Law, LLC, to request our DUI defense services, and an experienced attorney will be in your corner.
What is the Legal BAC Limit in Georgia?
Across the country, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08%. This means that adults with more than 0.08% BAC while driving are considered impaired and likely to face strict measures. This is also the exact legal BAC for adult drivers in Georgia.
Even the smallest alcohol content in the bloodstream will likely lead to a DUI offense. However, drivers under 21 must abide by a much lower blood alcohol content in Georgia than in any other state across the country. In this case, all those drivers under 21 have a maximum legal BAC of just 0.02%.
That is why any underage driver in Georgia is required to stay away from alcohol as much as possible. Often, underage drivers will be charged with two offenses: underage DUI and driving under the influence.
What Are the Potential Penalties for Under-21 DUI in Georgia?
As highlighted above, Georgia has zero-tolerance laws for DUI, especially for underage drivers. Anyone caught driving under the influence is likely to face extreme penalties.
Here are some common penalties you’re likely to face if caught driving and under the age of 21.
Initial Financial Fines
You’ll be required to pay an initial fine of $300 for the first offense. For the second and third offenses, you will be required to pay a massive fine of $750 and $1000, respectively. The fines are pretty extreme, but they are nothing compared to the other penalties you will face in Georgia if you’re caught driving under the influence.
Minimum Jail Sentences
There is a minimum 6-month jail sentence that you will be required to serve if you’re caught driving under the influence of alcohol as an underage driver in Georgia. As an underage driver, you must serve 30 days in jail. The jail sentence can be even longer if other aggravating factors are involved in the case.
Your driver’s license is automatically suspended for a minimum of 12 months if you’re caught driving under the influence of an underage driver in Georgia. You can only regain your license by completing the DUI course and meeting all the other requirements. However, if it’s your second or third offense, you might not be lucky enough to get your license back.
An ignition interlock device is a machine that is installed in your car and analyzes the alcohol in your breath before the engine can start. The machine will only allow the engine to start if it detects no alcohol on your breath. You might need this device installed in your car for up to 12 months.
A Georgia DUI Defense Lawyer Can Help
If you have been caught driving under the influence as an underage driver in Columbus, Georgia, you must seek legal help immediately. An underage DUI defense lawyer can help you understand the charges against you and the potential penalties you’re facing. The lawyer can also help you build a solid defense to ensure that your rights are protected.
At Moffitt Law, LLC, we have a team of experienced DUI defense lawyers dedicated to helping those facing DUI charges, including those under 21. We will thoroughly investigate your case and build a solid defense to ensure you get the best possible outcome. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.
DUI Defense FAQs
What is the Cost of a DUI Defense Attorney?
The cost of a DUI defense attorney will depend on the severity of the charges, the number of offenses, and the jurisdiction in which you were charged.
What are the Chances of Beating a DUI Charge?
The chances of beating a DUI charge will depend on the strength of the prosecution’s case, the severity of the charges, and the jurisdiction in which you were charged.